Although there are several spots in Bali that don’t get the attention they deserve, one of the most underrated places on the island has to be Canggu. If you like sunsets, stray dogs, stray cats and sunsets, it’s a completely unmissable paradise. After Kuta, we were excited to find somewhere less touristy and probably slightly cleaner. Luckily, not long after leaving, we managed to find the dirtiest beach in Bali, on which we learned to surf. I’d heard so many great things about Canggu, that you can imagine my amazement that people had neglected to mention that Canggu also has its own mountain range! These mountains were not your stereotypical, boring mountains however, these were fifteen foot high mounds of plastic, cardboard and other waste products that I don’t even care to mention (you could say it was a pretty RUBBISH mountain), situated right on the beach. If you’re planning a trip to Canggu any time soon, I’d hurry, because these won’t be here for much longer; we were informed that they would be slowly releasing it all into the ocean! And there was me thinking that the waste disposal system in England was outdated!

The beach itself, aside from the piles of waste, was beautiful. The surfing was enjoyable, especially if you enjoy discarded items of clothing hitting you in the face as you’re struggling to get to your feet. Perhaps it’s the oceans way of encouraging you to surf properly – the longer you stay on top of the board, the less time you have to spend in the rancid water. Maybe I’m just being ungrateful.

The number of stray cats and dogs really struck me in Canggu. In a ten minute walk to our hotel, I wouldn’t be surprised if we passed twenty strays, of both varieties. I’m a huge fan of cats and dogs, but unfortunately it’s probably wise to give them a wide berth (unless mangy, dirty, flea-ridden, rabid dogs are your thing).

The hotel we stayed at (The Frii Hotel) was incredible. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was served on the rooftop, and the views over Canggu were breathtaking. As a fan of sunsets, I can thoroughly recommend this as a place to witness them. Taking a couple of Bintang Beers onto a nearby black-sand beach was possibly one of the more memorable ways I’ve watched the sun go down. Not even locals throwing half empty aerosol cans intermittently onto a bonfire behind us could dampen my spirits.


Admittedly, we only spent one night in Canggu, so I can’t claim to be an expert on the surrounding area. In my opinion, the options of things to do are limited, but if you’re after a relaxing couple of nights, and maybe a little bit of ringworm or a slight chance of rabies, I suggest you take a trip to Canggu and see what else it has to offer.

