After twenty five days in Bali, I was more than ready to move to Australia. I was excited to leave behind the mosquitos, fried rice and rabid monkeys, and I couldn’t wait for proper drinking water, health and safety regulations and cereal. Such a shame that when we got here, we realised we couldn’t afford any of those. We’ve been in Australia for five days now, and have been drinking out of puddles just to get by, and even those are $10 a sip. That said, I’m sorry to announce that this is the end of my blog, we’re coming home, it’s just too expensive. It was fun while it lasted though.

Whilst waiting for our connecting flight in Sydney, we decided to go into the city centre and see the sights. $70 later we had our return ticket for a fifteen minute train journey, and were eager to see what Sydney had to offer. We didn’t quite make it to the Opera House (too expensive) or Sydney Harbour Bridge (too expensive), but we did make it to a park, and a shopping centre, both of which were free. There was potential for us to further our exploration, except for the fact that Paige was asleep, again. She managed to fall asleep on the train, in the middle of the park, and at the table of the cafe that we were eating in.


We arrived in Brisbane not long after, in a lovely, thriving town called Nundah. Ever heard of it? Of course you haven’t, because I doubt even the people that live here have heard of it. Its best selling points are a green that you can play croquet on, and a Woolworths – these are still a thing in Australia. Now after visiting both of these top attractions several times over, we decided to explore further afield, and walked to a nearby-ish shopping centre, where we managed to spend an absolute fortune, without actually seeming to buy anything. Admittedly, this shopping centre did have a bank and a Vodafone, both of which we needed to visit, and the McDonalds here do Gravy Covered Fries, so I can’t say that our trip was a complete waste of time.

All joking aside, Nundah is a lovely little town, and despite the lack of things to do, it does have several very nice bars and restaurants, and the train into Brisbane city is surprisingly very cheap. I’m sure the train ride into the city centre was pleasant, but I couldn’t say for certain due to the fact that we couldn’t see past the graffiti on the window. I’d assume however that it was incredibly scenic, so picture it that way.

Brisbane is incredible. It’s hard to moan, even for me, when you’re walking by the river in 35 degree sunshine, and there are no locals trying to convince you to have a massage by shouting at you like they were in Bali. It seemed to be less expensive than Sydney, and the people appeared to be less miserable which was a bonus. If you’re from England, the best way I can describe it to you is that it looks a little bit like London, but try to imagine that everything is nicer and everyone is smiling. And you want to be there. And it’s sunny. I’ll be honest it’s nothing like London, but I’m trying to put it into context. I won’t brag though, as it wasn’t all as perfect as it sounds. My legs did get incredibly tired after all that walking along the riverside, and my hay fever flared up a little after sitting on the grass to read in the sun, and I did need a wee the whole way home after enjoying a refreshing beer and a glass of Pimms in a bar next to the local market. It was torturous really.


I’m not normally one to gloat, but Brisbane has been so nice so far, that I’m finding it difficult to moan about things, so I have to put my own spin on it somehow. I may have forgotten to mention that everything is very expensive, or have I covered that?

